Skip to main content

Marriage Preparation

"Marriage consecrated by God preserves that bond between man and woman that God has blessed ever since the creation of the world." - Pope Francis 

The first step in preparing for your marriage is to talk with the priest or deacon, so you can lock in a date and a Church for your ceremony.  Tell him which program you would like to attend.  Then, contact the person listed to get more information about that particular program, and to register.

These programs are usually offered once a year.  When multiple dates are listed, couples attend all sessions in order to complete the preparation program.

Please see the calendar below for marriage preparation available in your area. They are listed chronologically.

If you have any questions, contact the Office of Lifelong Faith Formation at 207-773-6471.

All Saints Parish, Brunswick
Weekend of February 9 & 10, 2018
Friday 6 p.m. to Saturday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
St Charles Borromeo Church, 132 McKeen Street, Brunswick
Contact:  Ann Carlton - ann.carlton@portlanddiocese.org or 725-2624

Portland Peninsula & Island Parishes                                          
Sundays of Lent: February 18, 25 and March 4. 11, 18, 25 and April 8, 2018
Couples attend all sessions.
6 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. – Dinner included
Msgr. Dimingo Hall at St. Peter Church, 72 Federal Street, Portland
Contact:  Carolyn Mitchell - carolyn.Mitchell@portlanddiocese.org or 207-773-7746, Ext. 110

Good Shepherd Parish, Saco
February 17, 24 March 3, 10, 2018 - 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
March 24, 2018 -1:30 p.m. -7:30 p.m. (includes Mass and dinner)
Couples attend all sessions.
Most Holy Trinity Church Hall, 271 Main Street, Saco
Contact:  Kim Perrigo -  kim.perrigo@portlanddiocese.org

St. John Vianney Parish, Fort Kent
First Saturday for four months: March 3, April 7, May 5, June 2, 2018
Couples attend all sessions.
Sessions begin with 4 p.m. Mass and continue to 8 p.m. Dinner is provided
St. Louis Church, 26 East Main Street, Fort Kent
Contact: Fr. Jean-Paul Labrie at jean-paul.labrie@portlanddiocese.org -or- Deacon Luis & Julie Sanclemente at sanclemente@fairpoint.net

Notre Dame du Mont Carmel Parish, Madawaska
Weekend of March 9-11, 2018
Christian Life Center, 444 U.S. Route One, Frenchville,
Contact:  Charles Collin - ccollin@msad3,org 

St. Paul the Apostle Parish, Bangor
March 2 & 3, 2018 - Snow date March 9 & 10, 2018
St. Joseph Hall, 531 North Main Street, Brewer
Contact: Mary Brown - mary.brown@portlanddiocese.org

Sebago Lakes Region Parishes
Six Wednesdays: May 16,23,30 and June 6,13,30, 2018
6 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. - Dinner is included.
Couples attend all sessions.
St. Anthony of Padua Parish Hall, 268 Brown Street, Westbrook
Contact:  Kris Torrey - kris.torrey@portlanddiocese.org or 207-857-0490, Ext. 23

St. Michael Parish, Augusta
Saturday and Sunday, May 19 & 20, 2018
8:30 am – 7:30 Saturday, and 8:30 am-12:30 pm Sunday
St. Augustine Hall, 75 Northern Avenue, Augusta
Contact: Gail Gould - gail.gould@portlanddiocese.org

Online Marriage Preparation Programs:
Catholic Marriage Preparation from the Archdiocese of Chicago -
Agape Catholic Ministries from Colorado Springs

Other possibilities in New England
Engaged Encounter weekends
Archdiocese of Boston Marriage Preparation